awomanlike me

Elizabeth Giamatti on A Woman Like Me

Diagnosed with terminal breast cancer, Alex Sichel decides to rewrite her life’s script by casting Lili Taylor as a fictional version of herself in a film about a woman who surmounts the exact same illness. Piecing together that narrative with behind-the-scenes documentary, Sichel and co-director/producer Elizabeth Giamatti forge an entirely unique hybrid film about facing and overcoming one’s fears in life and art. We spoke to Giamatti about their collaboration on A Woman Like Me and what it was like to finish the film after Sichel’s passing.

Read More


Finalists For The 2015 Showtime Tony Cox Short Screenplay Competition

NFF is proud to announce the three finalists for our Showtime Tony Cox Short Screenplay Competition. The winner, to be announced during the festival, will receive a $500 cash prize, an all access pass to attend the fest, and more. Stay tuned, and thanks to everyone who submitted.

Boomerang the Great by Ana Dominick

When her Grandpa dies, a lonely 7-­year-­old girl embarks on a tireless odyssey from the Mojave to Australia to reunite with her estranged Mama.

More Cow Bell by Andy Nellis

On this farm, black eyes and slaughter are what keeps a family together.

Stronghold by Cornelius Murphy

Madison’s visit to her father’s house reveals a troubling secret from the man she thought she knew.


Meet Minnie Getz: The Diary of a Teenage Girl Trailer

A big hit at Sundance, The Diary of a Teenage Girl stars Bel Powley, Kristen Wiig and Alexander Skarsgard in a rather peculiar love triangle: daughter, mother and mother’s boyfriend. As emotionally honest as it is transporting, The Diary of a Teenage Girl is a reconfiguration of the coming of age movie, set against the backdrop of counterculture San Francisco. Watch it below.

Read More

View More Posts